Andrew Scott & Nicole Scherzinger Win At Night Normal Awards – Deadline

Andrew Scott, Nicole Scherzinger and author Jack Thorne had been among the many winners ultimately night time’s Evening Standard Theatre Awards in London.

Scott’s efficiency in Vanya landed him a second Finest Actor Awards after his 2019 win for Current Laughter. The play, billed as a “radical new model of Anton Chekhov’s Uncle Vanya,” noticed Scott painting quite a few characters. It ran on the Duke of York’s Theatre.

The Sherlock and wasn’t readily available to gather his prize, so Jenna Coleman, who introduced his win, collected it on his behalf.

Former Pussycat Doll singer and actuality TV decide Scherzinger took residence Finest Musical Efficiency for her function in Sunset Boulevard, which started in September on the Savoy Theatre. The play additionally landed a Finest Director win for Jamie Lloyd.

His Darkish Supplies author Thorne’s The Motive and the Remedy, in regards to the off-stage happenings of Sir JohN Gieldgud’s 1964 Broadway manufacturing on Hamlet starring Richard Burton, was named Finest Play. The manufacturing’s director, Sam Mendes, was additionally given a Lebedev Award for his dedication to theater.

Ruth Wilson and Elton John had been handed Editor’s Awards — Wilson’s for her 24-hour present The Second Lady and John for his work on performs akin to The Lion King, Billy Elliot and Tammy Faye. Different winners included Georgia Lowe (Finest Design for her work on Lyric Hammersmith’s The Good Particular person of Szechwan) and Tatenda Shamiso (Rising Expertise for No I.D. on the Royal Court docket).

Final yr, Jodie Comer was the big winner, taking residence a Finest Actress win for her West Finish stage debut in Prima Facie. Earlier winners on the ES Theatre Awards embody Judi Dench, Benedict Cumberbatch, Tom Hiddleston, Nicole Kidman and Gillian Anderson.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button