Yamal’s historical record, the incredible Kane and Ballack parallelism and other curiosities

EThis Friday starts the Euro Cupthe best national team competition organized by the UEFA. A number of footballers from all the countries, leagues and clubs of the old continent will fight to make their place in the history of this unique tournament. Know the most important curiosities that this new edition of the Euro has.

How many players each team and league brings

The Premier League It is the league that will bring more footballers to the Euro 2024. They are a total of 96Being the Manchester City, with 13, the team that incorporates the most; and they follow him Arsenal (ten), the Liverpool (9) and the Manchester United (8). The english second division will lead to quite a few too (taking into account that it is a lower category): 17 players.

With 90, Serie A is second in this rankingwith several players from Inter de Milan (13, the same as Pep Guardiola’s team), and others from the Bolognathe Juventus and the Roma (all with nine) and the Milan (8). The Bundesliga will take 76 footballers. He Leipzig takes it to 11, and the champion Leverkusen to ten, the same as the Bayern Munich. The Champions League finalist Borussia Dortmund and Wolfsburg take it to eight.

The Spanish First Division It’s still on the list with quite a few less: 55 players. He Real Madrid (12) and the Barça (11) are the clubs that incorporate the most men. Ligue 1 contributes 31 footballersBeing the Paris Saint Germain the team with the most by far: 12 players.

The Turkish league has the same ones as the French one (31)and below is the Czech Republicwith 21. The Prague Slavia It is one of the clubs that has the most players, a total of ten. The Austrian first division He’s 16, Eredivisie from Netherlands 15, the same as Ukraineand the Saudi League will take 14.

You can check in MARCA all the leagues that contribute players to Euro 2024 and how many footballers there are in total.

The youngest and oldest player, two historical records

Lamine Yamal, Barcelona footballer, arrives at this Euro as the youngest in the championship. Con 16 years and 11 months He is the only underage footballer. Furthermore, if he plays at least one minute he will become the youngest player in the entire history of the Euros. Currently the Polish Kacper Kozlowski is the one who holds that record making his debut in the match between Poland and Spain in the group stage of Euro 2021 at just 17 years and 246 days old.

The touches of Rodri and Lamine Yamal before Spain training

On the other hand, Pepecaptain of Porto and former Real Madrid player, is the oldest player of this edition and will also be the oldest of all time. Until now, that title is held by Gábor Király, Hungary’s goalkeeper, who played in Euro 2016 at 40 years and 86 days old. The Portuguese center back is 41.

Albania, a selection of foreigners

One of the most curious facts about Euro 2024 is the large number of foreign footballers that the Albanian team will havein addition to all The 26 called up play outside this country. . . . An eleven can be made with the foreign-born players: Etrit Berisha (Kosovo), Marash Kumbulla (Italy), Berat Djimsiti (Switzerland), Ivan Balliu (Spain), Mario Mitaj (Greece), Jasir Asani (Northern Macedonia) , Ylber Ramadani (Germany), Nedim Bajrami (Switzerland), Arbër Hoxha (Germany), Taulant Seferi (Northern Macedonia) and Armando Broja (England).

Kane’s parallels with Ballack

Michael Ballack, known as the football jinx, was a great German player, but he was unlucky to lose the most important titles he played for in his career. In 2008Chelsea reached the final of the Champions League, in which they lost against Rooney and CR7’s Manchester United. Furthermore, in the summer they also qualified for the final of the Euro Cupin which he would lose against the Spain by Luis Aragonés. What could have been a glorious year turned into a nightmare. In 2016 the same thing happened to Griezmann; However, two years later the Frenchman won the World Cup.

Harry Kane, England star, signed with Bayern Munich in the summer of last year, with the aim of lifting many trophies. The British is one of the best forwards of the decade, but has never won a collective title. Unfortunately for him, Bayer Leverkusen won the Bundesliga undefeated, and in the Champions League the Bavarians fell in the semis against Madrid. Now, with the Euro, he has a new opportunity.

The statistics are to be broken

Germany is undoubtedly one of the favorites. Italy, France, England, Spain and Portugal are the rivals to beat. Anything can happen, but the interesting thing is that It has been 40 years since the host last won the European title. France in 1984 was the last. Since then, there have been several hosts that have reached the final, but failed to win: Portugal in 2004, Germany in 2008, France in 2016, among others.

However, the statistics are there to be broken. If the Germans win this Euro, they will end the hostess curse. If achieved, Julian Nagelsmann (36) will become the youngest coach in history to win this competition. To date, José Villalonga, former Spanish coach, won the Euro in 1964 with ‘La Roja’. By the way, Spain holds the record for the youngest and oldest coach (Aragonés) to lift the title.

Deschamps can match Del Bosque and Helmut Schön

There is a coach who can make history in this Euro Cup. Deschampsif he wins the desired trophy with France, he will enter the exclusive and small club of the technicians who won the World Cup and the Euro. Vicente del Bosque (World Cup in 2010 and Euro in 2012) and Helmut Schön (Euro in 1972 and World Cup in 1974) are the only ones who have achieved it to date. The French coach already won the World Cup in 2018.

Germany – Spain: The tiebreaker?

Spain y Germany They are the most successful teams in the competition. Both are the ones that have won the most Euro Cups, with a total of three each. ‘La Roja’ won it in 1964, in 2008 and in 2012. For its part, the Germans won in 1972, in 1980 and 1996. The two teams are presenting themselves as candidates this summer. If one wins the title, he will deliver the strongest blow in the history of the competition.

Belgium and Portugal, two candidates with foreign technicians

The only time a Euro champion coach with a country that was not his was in 2004. The German Otto Rehhagel won the 2004 Euro with Greece, one of the most surprising champions of all time. The Italian Domenico Tedesco, Belgium coachand Catalan Robert Martínez, Portugal coach, are two technicians who are going to lead nations that are not theirs. Belgium and Portugal are two candidates to take the cup home.


Davide Piano

An experienced journalist with an insatiable curiosity for global affairs on newshubpro

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button